Look on Local – Chilly & Munch

 photo Mango snow 2_zpsmnqnn9fq.jpg
This cup does no justice to the “shaved snow” layers.

Truth: I have never seen falling snow. I’ve never caught snow in my mouth, which is something I imagine people do where it snows. Chilly & Munch’s claim to local fame is something called shaved snow. It looks like ice cream, but I think they serve it by literally shaving it into layers.

 photo Mango Ice_zpskgx1vbl2.jpg
Closeup of the glorious, ephemeral layers.

This is *much* better than Dippin Dots. The texture is so light, it’s almost gone before you taste it. Until it melts. Then it’s basically ice cream.

It’s located at 2101 Showers Dr, Mountain View, CA 94040.

However, if you’re not familiar with that part of the city, it can be tricky to find. Their outdoor signage is nonexistent. Luckily, there was a large family having a snack outside, which is how I found the place as I drove by. I parked on the street because there was no obvious adjoining lot. I found a spot easily, but I came on a Saturday at around 4pm.

If you’re up for a stroll or doing errands at Milk Pail or Trader Joe’s in the San Antonio Shopping Center, it’s not too far to walk down the road where the old Safeway used to be (that empty building that turns into a costume store every Halloween).

 photo ChillyampMunch Menu train_zpsoycv0fy7.jpg
Mural and their menu.

 


Highlights:

The shaved snow was a bit too sweet for my taste but my 5yo son loved it.
Their “snow” menu offered seasonal fruits and flavors.
There’s a screen inside that has estimated arrival and departure times for the train. The stop is just a few steps beyond their threshold.
 photo ChillyampMunch Train_zpswjwii6t4.jpg
I would call it family-friendly. Several strollers can fit inside the cafe, and the tables and chairs can move to accommodate double strollers.
They have free wi-fi but I couldn’t find the password posted anywhere and had to ask.
They have a snack menu.
All the prices seemed reasonable.


Lowlights:

They ran out of batter for the round waffle-ball things I wanted to try, but one of the workers came to our table and apologized and offered a substitute. I chose something off their Munch’adillas menu (I guess the Munch part of Chilly & Munch).

 photo ChillyampMunch Pizza_zpsyokw1kfb.jpg
I got the pizza-dilla, the delicious lovechild between a pizza and quesadilla.

It took over 40 minutes between when I ordered and when I actually received the first of my food.


Overall: ★★★★☆

A great place for a chilly shaved snow & a savory munch‘adilla, for friends and family, but it might be a frustrating place to eat if you’re trying to get food for lunch hour, trying to catch a movie, or, ironically, catch a train ride during a specific time.

 


I’ll be moderating a writers workshop this coming Friday, February 19, 2016 at Book Buyers in Downtown Mountain View. 317 Castro Street.

The event starts at 7:30pm but I highly suggest making a night of it and coming to the area early for dinner at Crepevine across the street. Parking is easiest before 6pm.

The topic, Writers Groups: How to Find Your Goldilocks Group, is accessible to all writing skill levels and it’s totally FREE. Hope to see you there!

You can find my stories on Amazon. And you can reach me on Twitter and Facebook.

 

One thought on “Look on Local – Chilly & Munch

Leave a Reply

