NaNoWriMo Prep: STARTER PACK

For your toolbox:

 photo Plot Cause and Effect Dominos_zpsaxdoiche.jpg
A series can be serial or episodic, depending on whether or not the plot chain reaction carries into the next volume.

Putting together a story’s bones: PLOT.


 photo Worldbuilding - 3 basic elements_zpsgca4balv.jpg
Worldbuilding happens in every genre.

Putting some flesh on your story: WORLDBUILDING.


 photo image_zpscvz9gayg.jpeg
I asked Futurehusband to give our son’s dog a summer haircut. He only shaved the head, which made it seem like the dog was wearing the coat of a much larger dog.

Giving your story a soul: CHARACTERS.


 photo TRex with cookie.jpg-large_zpsjtfg8o39.jpg
Dialogue is like poker: easy to learn but can be tricky to master.

Giving your story a voice: DIALOGUE.


 photo 1st Person POV Blog_zpsed7sibwq.jpg
If you’re having trouble making progress in a story, you could consider writing it from a different Point of View.

Choosing a POINT OF VIEW. (More on POINT OF VIEW)


Writing philosophies for further reading:

Where do we go from here? PLOTTING/PANTSING.

Running out of steam, or painting yourself into a corner: WRITING ANXIETY/ WRITERS BLOCK.


Have questions?

Contact me by leaving a comment below, on Twitter (@JoanWIP), or Facebook.

And for more writing tips, recipes, or posts on being a Mom in the Bay Area, follow this blog via the Follow link at the top of the page.

Sharing is caring! I appreciate Pins, Reblogs, Facebook shares and Twitter Tweets!


For fans of Self-Rescuing Heroines, Science Fiction, Fantasy, SciFi-Fantasy hybrids (Science Fantasy), Sword and Sorcery, Arthurian legends, and Female Protagonists, check out my novella series, Take Your Daughter to Work Day.
 Part 1 of the series. “Take Your Daughter to Work Day” Anne Dwarding discovers her mom’s secret job, secret life, secret mission.

 Part 2 of the series. “A Mile in My Shoes” Anne must earn her keep by retrieving DNA from Cinderella’s slippers.

Hang out in my mental playground! For cheaper than a Pumpkin Spice Latte, my highly-rated short stories are available on Amazon, Fresh Cuts: Breaking Volume and Fresh Cuts 2: Skinning Volume. #Fantasy #SciFi #Horror #Fables #Fairytales #SelfRescuingHeroines #DiverseBooks.

 Fresh Cuts 2: Skinning has been reviewed as “Smart” “Fresh” “Disturbing” and “the part of Wonderland people don’t talk about”!

 Fresh Cuts: Breaking has been reviewed as “Twisted” “Hilarious” and a “Delightfully perverse collection”!

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s